Google & T-Mobile Holding Special Events Tomorrow, Suspected to be Google Music Store Announcement

| November 15, 2011 | Reply


If you haven’t heard yet, Google is holding an Android-themed special event tomorrow (Wednesday, November 16th). The invite that you see above, reading “These Go To Eleven”, was received by invitees last week. If you’re not aware, “These Go To Eleven” is a reference to the 1984 mockumentary This is Spinal Tap – which points to the event as being about music. In fact, it has already been pretty well established that the event will be the proper announcement of a Google Music Store to go along with the already-existing Google Music, which is still considered as being in beta. Contributing to this theory are some leaked images of music purchasing options in the Android Market (below).

Some reported features of Google’s new music service are the ability +1 song and albums, and also the ability to share songs via Google+ – allowing friends to listen to the song once and then purchase the song if they decide they like it.

More after the break…

Following the Google event there will apparently be another event, hosted by T-Mobile and Google. This concert event lists a special guest appearance by rapper Drake, as well as live performances by Maroon 5, Busta Rhymes, Dirty South, and R3hab. This event hints even more at the fact that the event is regarding a Google Music Store, but what T-Mobile has to do with it is still unknown. Will the music store be an exclusive for T-Mobile customers at first? Will they get access to special pricing or exclusive features? I guess we’ll find out tomorrow.

In a related story, it is being reported that Google is close to having a deal with Universal Music Group and EMI Music is already on-board. This would make sense, since Google’s main hurdle has been getting music labels on-board with them for their music-based product.

You can catch the live stream of the event tomorrow at 2:00pm Pacific (3pm Mountain, 4pm Central, 5pm Eastern) at the Android YouTube channel. It’s unclear at this time whether the second event, which is slated to begin at 9PM Pacific (10pm Mountain, 11pm Central, 12am Eastern), will also be live streamed or not. We’ll keep you posted.

Source: Engadget, Droid-Life

Leaked images via: Tecnodrive

Share on Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Android News

About the Author ()

Co-owner and PR guy for GizmoNinja.com. I’m happily married and a father to a wonderful (most of the time) son. I work in the E9-1-1 software/data industry by day and am a tech loving geek in my spare time. I’m interested in all things tech, but am big into Android especially. I dabble in a little of everything – Android development, PC development, web development, etc – but am a master of none (not even close)… But I have fun doing it anyway! =P

Share on Facebook

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin